Deadwood Series
Welcome to Deadwood—the Ann Charles version. The world she has created is a blend of present day and past, of fiction and non-fiction. What’s real and what isn’t is for you to determine as the series develops, the characters evolve, and she writes the stories line by line. One thing about the series—it’s going to run on for quite a while, and Violet Parker will have to hang on and persevere through the crazy adventures planned for her. Poor, poor Violet. It’s a good thing she has a lot of gumption to keep her going!
Rattling the Heat in Deadwood

A scrappy, hot-blooded woman can only take so much!

Violet Parker is on fire … or rather under fire yet again.

New evidence has fanned the embers of a cold murder case, and her alibi is smoldering at the corners. While battling a dogged detective determined to pin the murder on her, Violet scrambles to find the real killer.

Will she escape “the heat” with singed tail feathers? Or will Violet go down in flames?


NOTE: The audio edition of Rattling the Heat in Deadwood will be available in early spring 2018.

Book 7
A Wild Fright in Deadwood

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned … especially a dead one holding a grudge.

Back on Deadwood’s list of Usual Suspects, Violet Parker is hip deep in wild frights and fired-up females. After juggling bitter threats, haunted buildings, and vengeful ghosts, the last thing she needs is a pair of bullheaded detectives trying to pin another murder on her tail.

Can Violet find the real killer before she ends up behind bars? Or worse, on a slab at the morgue.

Book 6
Meanwhile, Back in Deadwood

Meanwhile, Back in Deadwood …

The mystery and mayhem continue. Between the butchered body parts, creepy killers, dogged detectives, ghoulish ghosts, and ever-present TV cameras, Violet Parker’s purple boots are itching to skedaddle.

But there’s no escaping another murder investigation or her new deadly reputation. Not even if both risk the lives of those she loves most.

Book 5
An Ex to Grind in Deadwood

Something has gone foul in the Black Hills … something gravely unnatural. Leave it to Violet Parker to stumble into the middle of it.

A creepy phone call. A dead body. Two meddling detectives. A glut of trouble-making ex-partners. Can things get any worse?

Violet swears to keep her nose out of police business this time. But when her son is linked to the victim, she returns to the scene of the crime. More than just a mystery to solve, now her son might be in mortal danger.

Book 4
Better Off Dead in Deadwood

One dead body. One century-old haunted opera house. One zombie musical. One pissed-off detective. Will Violet “Spooky” Parker keep her tail out of trouble or will she end up as one of Deadwood’s walking dead?

Book 3
Dead Case in Deadwood

Real estate agent, Violet “Spooky” Parker stumbles upon a body-part theft ring at the local funeral parlor and suspects her caustic coworker has a hand in it–or maybe a foot. Can Violet discover what’s in the crates the crooks are sneaking out of the mortuary in the dark of night? Or will she end up in one of them herself … in pieces?

Book 2
Optical Delusions in Deadwood

With her reputation endangered, her bank account on the verge of extinction, and her career at risk of going up in flames, Violet Parker is desperate. When the opportunity to sell another vintage home materializes, she grabs it, even though this “haunted” house was recently the stage for a two-act, murder-suicide tragedy. But someone–or something–in the house wants Violet stopped…dead.

Book 1
Nearly Departed in Deadwood

Irony is having a big ol’ fiesta and Violet Parker is the piñata. Little girls are vanishing from Deadwood, South Dakota, and Violet’s daughter could be next. Short on time and long on worry, she’s desperate to find the monster behind the abductions. But with her jerkoff co-worker trying to get her fired, a secret admirer sending creepy love poems, and a sexy-as-hell stranger hiding skeletons in his closet, Violet just might end up as one of Deadwood’s dearly departed.

Deadwood Shorts
Tequila & Time

Tequila is a slippery devil …
Tequila is a slivvery depil …
Tequila issa slipperppery debil … depil …

Recipe for drunken laughter:
Take two best friends since childhood;
Add four shots of tequila each;
Sprinkle in a handful of secrets;

Given the right amount of Tequila & Time, even the deepest secrets between two friends will rise to the surface.

Cold Flame

Some old flames won’t stop smoldering …

Zoe Parker knew better than to play with fire.
Fireman Reid Martin sparked a flame in her that she couldn’t put out.
Will Zoe be able to escape with her heart before she gets burned?

COLD FLAME is the third story in the “Deadwood Shorts” collection, set between the sixth and seventh books in the Deadwood Mystery Series.

Boot Points

It’s not really about the boots … or is it?

BOOT POINTS is a set of short tales about Violet Parker’s purple boots. It is set in the story time between the third and fourth books in the Deadwood Mystery series. Each tale not only explains more of Violet’s history, but also shows the role each character plays in Violet’s life.

Seeing Trouble

What do you get when you combine a chicken named Elvis, a locked diary, and a secret Violet Parker does not want share with her daughter?

SEEING TROUBLE is the first of many short stories involving the characters of the Deadwood Mystery series. (Bonus character interview, illustrations, and non-related short story also included.)

Deadwood Shorts • Collector’s Edition
Deadwood Shorts

From the multiple award-winning author of the DEADWOOD MYSTERY SERIES comes a short, color printed collection to entertain and add to the Deadwood fun!

SEEING TROUBLE– What kind of trouble do you get when you combine a chicken named Elvis, a locked diary, and a secret Violet Parker does not want share with her daughter? Check it out and see for yourself.

BOOT POINTS– It’s not really about the boots … or is it? Violet Parker’s history unfolds in this set of short tales about her famous purple boots, exposing skeletons from her past that she had tucked away deep in her closet. In addition, several bonus short stories are included in Deadwood Shorts, along with a character interview of Violet Parker, a deleted scene from Nearly Departed in Deadwood, and series related illustrations.

error: Content is protected !!